Deep Pockets by Linda Barnes

Deep Pockets
(Carlotta Carlyle #10)
by Linda Barnes

DeepPockets

*

FirstChapFirstPara

First Chapter/First Paragraph/Tuesday Intros is hosted by Bibliophile By The Sea. To play along, share the first paragraph (or a few) from a book you’re reading or thinking about reading soon.

I hate running errands. I put them off and put them off, and then one morning the cat’s got no food, there are zero stamps on the roll, and I realize I own no underwear minus holes. I understand some people like to shop for clothes, do it for pure pleasure and entertainment, but I count it as one more damned errand. When the tasks mount up and I can’t put it off any longer, I make a list and set forth to Harvard Square. There are less pricey areas, granted, but the Square has its own post office and lies within spitting distance of my house.

*

TeaserTuesdaysTeaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme hosted by Jenn of A Daily Rhythm. Anyone can participate. If you’re new to Teaser Tuesdays, the details are at Jenn’s A Daily Rhythm or on my Tuesday Memes Page.

I first noticed him as I was waiting, along with thirty-five other assorted students, panhandlers, and shoppers, for the scramble light at the intersection of Brattle and Mass Ave. His gaze lingered a moment too long and I wondered briefly whether I’d met him at a party or exchanged small talk with the man at a bar.

*

I read this series a number of years ago and then moved and forgot about it. Have you read anything by Linda Barnes? What are you reading now?

25 comments on “Deep Pockets by Linda Barnes

  1. No, I haven’t read this author, yet, but I’m intrigued. I could totally relate to the character about errands…I would rather curl up at home. Love books set in Boston…so I must add this one to my list. Thanks for sharing. Here’s mine: “ONE MOMENT, ONE MORNING”

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dagny says:

      Another series set in the area (Cambridge though, I think) is Susan Conant’s Dog Lover’s series. It features dog trainer and writer Holly Winter and the dogs are malamutes. I really enjoyed the early and middle ones, but the last three or four were beginning to get rather heavy-handed with animal rights issues.

      Like

  2. Fred Runk says:

    Is that familiar? Don’t forget the three books awaiting at the library and the unpaid bills on the desk and the bag of books waiting to be taken to the used bookstore!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dagny says:

      LOL, Fred, yeah, that would be me also with the books. I don’t think Carlotta has much time to read – too much adventure and excitement in her life. I’ll take the quiet life and get my adventure vicariously any day.

      Like

  3. Fred Runk says:

    What am I reading now? Arthur Upfield’s “The Devil’s Steps,” one of his “Bony” Bonaparte mysteries.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. emmak89 says:

    I can definitely associate about the running errands too…except for clothes, I like shopping for them 🙂 like the writing style in this, it looks good! Thanks for stopping by 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dagny says:

      I think I liked shopping for clothes also in my younger days. But for the last couple of decades it’s been jeans and t-shirts, comfy. This series isn’t one of my top favorites, but I do enjoy it.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Yvonne says:

    I haven’t read anything by this author, but I’ve heard good things. This teaser sounds really good too.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m with the narrator. I hate running errands, especially on my day off.

    I’ve heard wonderful things about this series, but never got around to reading it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dagny says:

      She was writing them fairly regularly in the 90s, then slowed down. I think that’s why I forgot about them. Three years between books at one point.

      Like

  7. fuonlyknew says:

    I never get to go straight home after work. There’s always at least one errand to run. I’ve not read this author before.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dagny says:

      That was the nice thing about the last place I worked before retiring. My hours were 7 – 4, so I had plenty of time to do things before going home.

      Like

  8. Nish says:

    I’m the same as that protagonist as well 🙂 hate doing the shopping rounds

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dagny says:

      Now that I’m retired, I try to clump all my shopping and errands into one day a week. Doesn’t always work, but great when it does. Worked for me this week yesterday and now I’m free for the rest of the week to read and play on the Internet.

      Like

  9. I’ve not come across this author before but I sometimes unintentionally abandon series. Thanks for visiting my Tuesday post.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dagny says:

      I know, Cleo. I have so many series going (and adding more all the time thanks to these blogs) that anytime the author takes a bit of a hiatus, it is so easy to forget about the series.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Yvo says:

    Intriguing teaser! Makes me wonder who the mystery man is.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Shannon says:

    I agree with the character..errands are the worst! I try to avoid as long as possible lol. Interesting teaser!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Sounds great! I hate buying clothes for fun too!
    Your consistency with these posts amaze me Dagny… I was a no show on my blog for almost 3 months (except for a few WOW posts.) I wish I were a little more consistent… I’ll try to be now 🙂
    I’m presently reading Southern Solstice (requested by author) but I’m not able to read it as fast as I generally like to… I’m reading only 2 kindle pages a day… lol!

    Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts or comments?