Teaser Tuesdays – September 30, 2014

KinkyTT

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading.

Anyone can participate.

If you’re new to Teaser Tuesdays, the details are at MizB’s Should Be Reading or on my Teaser Tuesdays Page.

God Bless John Wayne
by Kinky Friedman

GodBlessJohnWayne

It was raining cool cats and kosher hot dogs in the city that afternoon and things weren’t getting any sunnier as the cat looked over my shoulder at me looking over my bank statement. I was keeping us in cigars and tuna by tackling a murder investigation every now and then, but the big clients didn’t seem to be queuing up on the street outside my building waiting for me to throw down the little black puppet head with the key to the front door wedged in its mouth.

KinkyReading

Cover blurb:

. . . life for Kinky Friedman is a constant adventure. The fact that he hires himself out as a private detective presents ample opportunity for encounters of the dangerous kind. The fact that he lives in New York City quadruples the odds.

. . . In his latest novel, the Kinkster is in absolute top form. Plus, he’s back in atmospheric New York City, ensconced in his downtown loft with his faithful though somewhat disdainful cat, arms akimbo, looking askew at a world run amuck. And in his heart, he knows that the big city is where he belongs.

If you enjoy hilarious dialogue, both internal and external, and are not offended by non-political correctness, you should enjoy almost any novel in this series. Although each one stands alone, as with most series, they are best read in order if possible.

What are you reading now? Do you have a TT to share with us?

Please leave a comment with your link on MizB’s Teaser Tuesday post or below. If you don’t have a blog, you can share your Teaser here in the comment section instead.

19 comments on “Teaser Tuesdays – September 30, 2014

  1. Emalie says:

    Love the writing, I will definitely check this out 😀

    Like

  2. I read one book by this author a long time ago and it wasn’t a good fit for me. But I’m willing to try again! This sounds like a good one.
    Here’s the link to my Tuesday post: SUMMERTIME.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kinky’s books aren’t for everyone. I love them, but I can see where some people don’t. The only one I haven’t enjoyed much was Musical Chairs. Also, When the Cat’s Away wasn’t as good as some others I’ve read. Maybe I missed the cat, lol. Thanks for coming by and leaving yours.

      Like

  3. This sounds like a fun read and by an author I haven’t heard of. Thanks for visiting my TT http://cleopatralovesbooks.wordpress.com/2014/09/30/teaser-tuesday-september-30/

    Like

  4. I really like the sound of this one, so full of humor and drama 🙂 Great post!

    Here’s my Teaser: Son of No One | Sherrilyn Kenyon

    And I’m hosting a Giveaway Rainbow Rowell’s Landline

    Liked by 1 person

  5. w0rdtrix says:

    Not an author I’ve heard of and – much as I love mysteries – I’m afraid this doesn’t sound like one that would appeal to me. Hope you enjoy(ed) it! Mine: The Phantom of the Opera

    Like

  6. Love the title and the humorous content. Looks like a fun read.

    Like

  7. yvonne473 says:

    This one sounds really good.

    Like

  8. Deasy says:

    If this book is a song, I think it’d be classified as country song. I like the teaser! Thanks for sharing, Madame Vauquer 🙂

    Like

  9. fuonlyknew says:

    This book is so for me! I’m going to go check out the author. I swear I recognize that name.
    Here is my TT – http://fuonlyknew.com/2014/09/30/teaser-tuesdays-83-devil-music-by-carly-orosz/

    Like

    • Indeed you might recognize the name. The Kinkster (author and character) have been around a while. I don’t recall ever hearing of his band before though. Thanks for coming by and leaving yours, Laura.

      Like

Your thoughts or comments?

