TBR Busting

aviatorsnoopy

 

January 1, 2017

164

(Using my list at Goodreads as an easy basis and for record keeping.)

bookpiles

snoopydance

My (rather informal) goal is to reduce the TBR count to under 100 by the end of 2017. If I succeed, there will be rejoicing!

35 comments on “TBR Busting

  1. Guy Savage says:

    I joined a Goodreads group and we’re each tackling our TBR stacks

    Liked by 2 people

  2. BookerTalk says:

    Good luck with the goal. I’m having a similar intent to read more of what I already own but haven’t put any kind of figure on it. The biggest challenge for me will be not buying any more books for six months.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Liz Dexter says:

    Good luck! I am planning some re-reading this year but of course feel I should get the TBR down a bit first!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I like that kind of goal more than a goal for how many books we read in all…getting the TBR down a bit feels like a plan. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Fred says:

    madamevauquer,

    Best wishes on meeting your goal. I’m also working on my Mount TBR, so I’m pulling for you all the way.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dagny says:

      Ditto, Fred! If you don’t post about it on your blog, feel free to update me on your progress here. I’ll be checking with you at the end of the year!

      Like

      • Fred says:

        Dagny,

        I haven’t decided yet what to do about posting any progress, or lack thereof, beyond doing something at the end of the year. I’m considering a side bar containing books purchased that month and the number of books read from Mount TBR.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. I stopped buying paper books several years ago and have never built up either an e-book or audio TBR pile (I buy as I read there, keeping a wishlist for future purchases.) My physical TBR pile is now about 80 and I really have no interest in reducing it further – my eyes are getting older and print format is hard. So my resolutions are to just keep reading about 150 books a year (this year 172) with Kindle or Audible (even Kindle is getting hard) and blog them.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dagny says:

      Good for you, Becky! I know what you mean about the small print. I’ve had a few books that I could only read in bright daylight. My Goodreads goal for 2017 is also 150, but in my case it also includes physical books.

      Like

  7. Hemangini says:

    I don’t have too big a goal for this year but I am hoping to exceed my expectations. All the best for your GR goals this year Dagny 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Emma says:

    Good luck with that.
    Does it mean you’re on a book buying ban as well?

    I’ll join the Goodreads group if I can find it. I need to decrease my TBR too.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Dagny says:

    No, I’m not on a book buying ban per se. But there are probably only a handful that I will purchase. Mainly it’s a few mystery series that I have been following for years and my library doesn’t carry.

    Like

  10. funny, yep, we are 2 French Emmas book blogging. Words And Peace lives near Chicago though ;-). Funny, we are so many trying to tackle our TBR this year. Here is what I’ll be dealing with on Mount Ararat: https://wordsandpeace.com/2016/12/30/mount-tbr-reading-challenge-2017/

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dagny says:

      Both of you being French is probably what always confuses me. 🙂

      I saw your blog post, Emma, and it is what convinced me to list my current TBR list when I make my own blog post. So handy for later too. Thanks for that!

      Like

Your thoughts or comments?

