Samuel Taylor Coleridge

plate08

With my cross-bow,
I shot the albatross.

Samuel Taylor Coleridge was born in Devonshire on April 21, 1772. The above illustration for The Rime of the Ancient Mariner is by Gustave Doré.

9 comments on “Samuel Taylor Coleridge

    • Dagny says:

      Thanks, Laurel-Rain. It’s long been a favorite of mine. I am also fond in general of Doré’s illustrations. There are around forty of them for this one at the link.

      Like

  1. BookerTalk says:

    Superb poem though I am not sure I fully understand it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Fred says:

    Dagny,

    Great illustration–fits the mood of the poem perfectly. There’s almost a graveyard atmosphere there.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dagny says:

      It was hard to choose, Fred! There are several others in the Doré collection that I loved too. Also some nice color ones that I found ages ago but have forgotten who was the illustrator. Ha, here it is Coleridge’s birthdate and I’m thinking and talking more about the illustrators.

      Like

  3. bennythomas says:

    I have this poem illustrated by Dore. It is by Dover publishers I think. Similarly Milton’s Paradise.

    Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts or comments?

