The Overlook by Michael Connelly

The Overlook
(Harry Bosch #13)
by Michael Connelly

Overlook

FirstChapFirstPara

New this week for me is First Chapter/First Paragraph/Tuesday Intros, hosted by Bibliophile By The Sea. To play along, share the first paragraph (or a few) from a book you’re reading or thinking about reading soon.

The call came at midnight. Harry Bosch was awake and sitting in the living room in the dark. He tried to think that he was doing this because it allowed him to hear the saxophone better. By masking one of the senses he accentuated another.

But deep down he knew the truth. He was waiting.

TeaserTuesdaysADailyRhythm

I am still participating in Teaser Tuesdays, the weekly bookish meme hosted by MizB of A Daily Rhythm. I’ve been doing this one since May, 2014.

“It’s a ring that reads radiation exposure.”

The news brought an eerie silence to the gathering.

Details on both can be found at the respective blogs. Don’t forget to leave a link on each blog so others can find your post.

*   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *

I’m so happy to be back reading about Bosch and company in one of Connelly’s books. I am now up to 2007.

What are you reading this week?

25 comments on “The Overlook by Michael Connelly

  1. Nish says:

    I know I have read this book and I think it was a good one, but for the life of me, I can’t remember the plot now. Whatever it is, it was good 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. beckmank says:

    I love the Bosch series! I’ve read them all. Enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Kay says:

    OK, I’ll confess. I’ve not yet read a book by Michael Connelly. I always mean to and then something else takes my attention away. Thanks for sharing though!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Vicki says:

    I haven’t read a Harry Bosch book in a long time.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’ve never read any of these books but I did watch the first series on Amazon and enjoyed it – may just have to commit to reading the books too now. Thanks for visiting my Tuesday post.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Diane says:

    I do like Harry B – I’d keep reading. So happy you joined us this week.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dagny says:

      Thanks, Diane. I’ve been noticing and reading First Chapter/First Paragraph/Tuesday Intros for a few weeks and toying with the idea of adding it. Most of my Tuesday Teasers are from very early in the book anyway, often the first page. So many times two sentences weren’t enough, so First Chapter/First Paragraph/Tuesday Intros is a great fit.

      Like

  7. I am way behind on the Bosch series.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dagny says:

      A friend of mine told me a few years ago to also read his other series and read in the order in which the books were written no matter which series since later the various series characters interact. It makes sense really and isn’t a stretch since they all live in L.A. and are involved in the crime scene one way or another. It’s working for me and great fun.

      Like

  8. Oh swell … another meme for me to want to do (next week … maybe … ) AND another series??? I may have to stop following you (which will never really happen, of course).

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Liz Dexter says:

    I’ve not read any of Connolly’s books but I always find it interesting to read about what other people are reading! I’m currently still wading through the first volume of Tony Benn’s diary (it is good, but I’m not that up on the politics of the late 50s/ early 60s so keep having to look stuff up), and about to start my sixth Forsyte Saga novel.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dagny says:

      I haven’t heard of Tony Benn’s diary. Not really into to politics, but do like reading about the 50s/60s – brings back youthful memories. I’ve read the first few Forsyte novels, but haven’t finished them. I think I’m up to White Monkey.

      Like

      • Liz Dexter says:

        His diaries are quite famous good examples of that sort of thing, however apparently the final volume is quite sad as he knew it would be his last, so I’m just acquiring them as I see them. I love the Forsytes – this is my third read of the first two trilogies and will be my second of the last trilogy. It’s a nice easy plan, 9 books in 12 months, and I’m doing a trilogy then a break for a month each time.

        Liked by 1 person

  10. Denise says:

    Sounds like a good series. Hope you are enjoying!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Literary Feline says:

    I love, love, love his books. And I am not too far into this series yet. That’s good in that I have a lot of books still to look forward to and bad because I feel so behind!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dagny says:

      I’m behind too, but looking on the bright side – not so long to wait before reading the next one. If Connelly only publishes one per year, I can still read two or three a year.

      Like

Your thoughts or comments?

