Teaser Tuesdays – April 7, 2015

GlobeBooksTT

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme hosted by MizB of A Daily Rhythm.

Anyone can participate.

If you’re new to Teaser Tuesdays, the details are at MizB’s A Daily Rhythm or on my Teaser Tuesdays Page.

April is Young Adult month for the RMFAO 2015 Genre Challenge. Since this is a new genre for me, other participants made suggestions and this one looks like a winner. So far I am finding it a delightful read.

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone
(Harry Potter #1)
by J. K. Rowling

HPSorcersStone

Harry didn’t trust himself to speak. He thought two of his ribs might already have cracked from trying not to laugh.

Have you read any of the Harry Potter books or seen any of the movies?

What are you reading now? Do you have a TT to share?

17 comments on “Teaser Tuesdays – April 7, 2015

  1. Yvo says:

    Harry Potter was one of my favorite series growing up, so I’m glad you are enjoying this one! Great teaser.

    Here’s my TT.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Dagny says:

      Thanks, Yvo. A friend of mine had told me a few years ago that she was reading them with her grandchildren and really enjoying them. I’m finding that to be the case. Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. wcs53 says:

    I was into my mid-30s before I read the Harry Potter books. Even my mum read them before me! But once I started I couldn’t finish. I hope you enjoy them. If you do, before you know it you’ll have read all seven! Here’s my TT for this week.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Eryn says:

    omg, this series will always be my most favorite as long as I breathe! hope you’ll find some magic in the books like I did!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Fred Runk says:

    Dagny,

    I read only the first Harry Potter novel and that was for a FTF SF/F book discussion group. I thought Ursula LeGuin’s “Earthsea” trilogy was better, so I never read any of the others.

    Right now I’m reading Russell Hoban’s _Angelica Lost and Found_. The opening lines of the novel:

    “Who, you may ask, is this that speaks? It is I, Volatore the hippogriff, yes! I, Volatore. I have outlived the man who imagined me into being. I have outlived centuries of little mortals who are born and die. While there are printed books and when there will be only memory of books I shall live. What reality can compare to that? Mountains crumble, the sea is poisoned and the air but I live, Volatore the flyer! Those others born of Ariosto’s pen, Orlando, Astolfo, Ruggiero–they live also. And Angelica. Angelica! But I alone have broken through the membrane of literary reality into that of mortals. And there again I find Angelica, chained to the rock of her beauty.”

    The novel comes from an incident in Ariosto’s 16th century poem, _Orlando Furioso_, a long and complicated tale of loss of loved ones, madness, battles, wizards, etc. The hippogriff is a legendary creature which resembles a winged horse with the head and upper body of an eagle. It’s quite a coincidence, therefore, that a hippogriff appears in a later Harry Potter book.

    The hippogriff’s love for Angelica has helped it to break free from the literary world into the real world of today where he first finds and then loses Angelica (as to be expected from works in this genre). I am about half way through the book now, so I don’t know how it ends. If it’s a traditional ending, the hippogriff and Angelica will be reunited, but with a Hoban twist to it, and who knows what that will be.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dagny says:

      Sounds exciting, Fred!

      Orlando Furioso is another that I’ve always thought I’d read, but haven’t gotten around to yet. Pretty sure I had a paperback of it at one point, a couple of moves back. I know there is at least one public domain translation which I could read anytime, but I’m bad and just keep going for novels instead.

      Like

      • Fred Runk says:

        Dagny,

        I have the same problem with long novel length epic poetry.

        I’ve read _The Iliad_ and _The Odyssey_, but in prose versions only. I have the verse translations around here somewhere, but I couldn’t get past the first couple of chapters. Maybe I’ll try again sometime. I had to read _Paradise Lost_ for class once, and that was a struggle. I enjoy poetry, but only the shorter works.

        Like

  5. yvonne473 says:

    I’ve never read Harry Potter. It’s just not my thing but I hope you enjoy it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dagny says:

      Thanks, Yvonne. I just noticed last night that it will count for your What an Animal Reading Challenge, so you’ll see it pop up there when I’ve finished.

      Like

  6. Although I haven’t read the books we spent many an hour travelling listening to the fabulous Stephen Fry narrating the audiobooks. Happy reading and thanks for visiting my blog.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Just wait until you get to Hogwarts Dagny! That’s where the real fun begins 😊
    Here’s my TT: The Girl At Midnight, by Melissa Grey. Release date-4/28/15
    Ala: “What will you do?”
    Echo: “Run when I have to, and fight till the end.”

    Liked by 1 person

  8. As cliche as it sounds, Harry Potter was the series that got me into reading. I’m glad you’re enjoying them!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I’m so glad that you’re enjoying it… Even I had the time of my life reading it (and now the next parts.)
    Harry is such a loveable character and J.K.Rowling’s writing is to die for… I laugh each and every time Ron or Harry makes a funny comment… I love their lovely trio and I’m so happy to finally read these magical books…
    I’ve watched all the movies and now I can say that the movies are really well made (as good as it can be.) I’m sure you’ll enjoy the movies as well… 🙂
    I’m reading Kamadeva (God Of Desire) presently (if you’ve already guessed, then yea, the creator and the God of Kamasutra.) It’s a brilliant read and the author’s writing is fantastically witty (it makes sense right!?) But it makes me laugh out loud in every second sentence… quite amusing to know the.. ahem… sex life of Indian Gods and being an atheist is really helping me as it’s not even coming close to offending me! heheh!

    Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts or comments?

