#ReadingMyLibrary Challenge

ReadingMyLibrary

If your Book Budget is out of control or you just need to cut back, April is the perfect time to participate in the #ReadingMyLibrary Challenge. Lovely Librarians Stefani at Caught Read Handed and Amy at Read What I Like are hosting the Challenge and you may visit either blog to get the scoop and sign up. It only takes reading one library book during the month of April to qualify and the Library Scavenger Hunt the last half of April sounds like fun. Celebrate National Library Week!

*  *  *

What will I be reading in April from my local library?

DeadInTheFamilyDeadReckoning

*  *  *

The next one (or two if I’m lucky) in Charlaine Harris’ Sookie Stackhouse series. When I decided to try this series last year after numerous recommendations, it was delightful to discover that my local library has the complete series.

*  *  *

FangirlFaultInOurStars

April is Young Adult month for the RMFAO 2015 Genre Challenge, so a great opportunity to read Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell which has been on my TBR list since it was so highly recommended by Emma. Another YA which I will get to if time permits is The Fault in our Stars by John Green.

*  *  *

Are you in?

Head on over to Stefani’s Caught Read Handed or Amy’s Read What I Like and sign up!

21 comments on “#ReadingMyLibrary Challenge

  1. I’m also gonna read Fangirl next month 🙂
    And I love this challenge! I’ll check it out…!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. robbinsrealm says:

    I think this is a great idea.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Fred Runk says:

    Dagny,

    I regret to say that this really isn’t the challenge for me as I normally get books from the library, both from the local library and through InterLibraryLoan. At present, I have one book on reserve through InterLibraryLoan and two books at home, waiting to be read. Earlier this week, I returned four books to the library, one of which I had gotten through InterLibraryLoan.

    The real problem is that getting library books interferes with reading the books in my TBR bookcase, and some of those books have been gathering dust for years.

    So, as you can see, the real challenge for me is NOT getting more books from the library!

    But, based on my past history, though, there is no doubt I will fail to meet MY challenge, and I will get at least one book from the library next month.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dagny says:

      LOL, Fred. I know just what you mean. I started Michael Connelly’s Echo Park several weeks ago, but haven’t read in past the first two days because of library books which seem/need to take precedence. That at scheduled group reads. Plus last time at library, while searching for Doctor Zhivago, grabbed a couple of books I didn’t know about off the cart of books waiting to be shelved. Never did find the good Doctor, thought he might be in the Lit section, but no luck there either.

      Like

      • Fred Runk says:

        Dagny,

        I find it hard to believe that a library would not have a copy of _Dr. Zhivago_. Perhaps all the copies were out? The library here allows us to make recommendations about purchases. Is that possible at yours?

        Liked by 1 person

        • Dagny says:

          According to their records it was not checked out, that’s why we decided it was misplaced – but what are the odd of it turning up? Whenever I spot a misfiled book, I grab it and either put it where it belongs or take it to the desk. A lot of readers probably do, I don’t know.

          Like

        • Fred Runk says:

          Dagny,

          Yes, we have books that go “Missing” also. That’s a euphemism for stolen, as far as I’m concerned.

          Liked by 1 person

  4. Shaina says:

    I can’t wait for this challenge myself! I still need to get signed up… thanks for the reminder.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Amy says:

    So happy to have you join us! You’ve got some great reads picked out too. Love the Sookie Stackhouse series. Amy @ Read What I Like

    Liked by 1 person

  6. jannghi says:

    Hi, thanks for commenting on my blog. I might read “Fangirl” or “Eleanor and Park,” been wanting to read those. I only checked out a few physical books and three audiobooks this month and will be going through my TBR pile until this challenge begins next month. As I said, I will use this time to catch up on those I don’t own at home.

    I always begin picking challenges in November, when they begin to go up on A Novel Challenge. Some I’m doing this year are new to me, others I’ve some in previous years (began doing challenges in 2013). Never tried one like this, though.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dagny says:

      I’ve heard of Eleanor and Park, so might look into that one. Thanks for the tip, Jamie.

      After I saw your post Jelly Belly Jelly Beans, I can see why you quipped no more challenges. It’s fascinating just the read the criteria. I’m almost afraid to click on the link.

      Like

  7. I’m so glad you’re joining us, Dagny! I love your TBR for the month, and I can’t wait to do the Scavenger Hunt too! 🙂
    Stefani @ Caught Read Handed

    Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts or comments?

