The TBR Tag

Happy to be tagged for The TBR Tag by Stefani at Caught Read H&nded who was double tagged by Rachel at Confessions of a Book Geek and Brandie at Brandie is a Book Junkie.

1. How do you keep track of your TBR pile?

The shelf at Goodreads works for me. Before that, it was never really official, just the bookcases, boxes and piles of books that happened to be on hand.

2. Is your TBR mostly print or eBook?

Definitely print, probably 95% or more.

3. How do you determine which book from your TBR to read next?

For me, it is largely determined by group reads, so it’s whatever is next on the schedule. For non-group reads, it depends on my mood.

4. A book that’s been on your TBR list the longest.

NotSpockScotsQuair

I have a number of books that have made it through two moves and absolutely no idea which I’ve had the longest. I have had all the traveling books at least ten years. A couple of them that I haven’t gotten around to reading yet are I Am Not Spock by Leonard Nimoy and A Scots Quair (Sunset Song, Cloud Howe, Grey Granite) by Lewis Grassic Gibbon.

5. A book you recently added to your TBR.

George Washington’s Secret Six: The Spy Ring That Saved the American Revolution by Brian Kilmeade, Don Yaeger

6. A book on your TBR strictly because of its beautiful cover.

Penumbra

None. I will however mention that I was freaked out one night by the cover of Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan. It glows in the dark!

7. A book on your TBR that you never plan on reading.

None really, although I do have Curse of Al Capone’s Gold by Mike Thompson which was passed on to me and will probably end up being given away unread.

8. An unpublished book on your TBR that you’re excited for.

I don’t bother placing unpublished books on my TBR list, but am always excited for the upcoming book in most of the mystery series I follow.

9. A book on your TBR that basically everyone has read but you.

My guess is one or more of the following:

memorykeepersdaughterwintersnightNightCircus

The Memory Keeper’s Daughter by Kim Edwards
If on a Winter’s Night a Traveler by Italo Calvino
The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

10. A book on your TBR that everyone recommends to you.

Various readers recommend in different genres. One with several recommendations is In the Woods by Tana French, both for itself and as the first in the Dublin Murder Squad series.

11. A book on your TBR that you’re dying to read.

RiverOfDoubt

The River of Doubt: Theodore Roosevelt’s Darkest Journey by Candice Millard

12. How many books are on your Goodreads TBR shelf?

Finally, a no-brainer! 194.

Consider yourself tagged if you have the time and inclination!

16 comments on “The TBR Tag

  1. My mom warned me about Mr. Penumbra’s glow in the dark cover and it still freaked me out! I love it though. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. FictionFan says:

    Sunset Song is very good – well worth shoving up the list. I wasn’t quite so taken by the other two in the trilogy though…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I haven’t read If On a Winter’s Night a Traveler, but I want to!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I didn’t know that Mr. Penumbra glowed. That is so cool! I thought both The Night Circus and The Memory Keeper’ s daughter were good 🙂

    Like

  5. Allo Madame Vauquer! It’s nearly February 1 and I wondered if you’re keen to bring this fine reading to my challenge triad. You are the participatory type a prize-giving hostess wants! It’s fun to hear that you are primarily a physical book appreciator. When I saw that Leonard Nimoy has one, I thought “I wonder if she’d trade paperbacks with me when she’s done”? I for one would read that! {GRIN} Carolyn. http://cmriedel.wordpress.com/mykindofmystery-2015/

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dagny says:

      Thanks for the reminder, Carolyn! I sort of forgot that it was February 1. I’ll have to see if I can fit it in.

      Like

      • All the same mysteries (“My Kind Of Mystery”) and paranormal / spiritual / fantasy (“Ethereal”) you’re doing already go right into my review linkies. 🙂 “Gentle Spectrums” is a mixed bag working with any of the above, very easy. Don’t mind if all three are in one post. https://cmriedel.wordpress.com/riedel-challenges-2015/

        Liked by 1 person

        • Dagny says:

          Thanks. I’m sort of slow. I haven’t even managed a post yet for the calendar year challenges, oops. I need to set up a Challenge Page too.

          Like

        • And that’s why I start my year after Christmas. We’re just winding into the new year! No rush with me. On another note, I’m serious about trading for the Leonard Nimoy if you decide not to keep it. Heeheehee.

          Liked by 1 person

        • Dagny says:

          Smart! Well at least you got me moving and I am finally working on the post for the first set of Challenges I joined.

          I’ll keep you in mind for the Nimoy bio. One other ST friend has first dibs. I’ve read his poetry books and he has been in photography lately. Not that any of that will be in this bio, it’s too old. Maybe the poetry.

          Like

        • No worries, maybe I’ll find it used. Yes, I saw an interview about how he’s been a lover of photography all his life. I’ll be grateful for the posts or post you give me, much-needed visibility to your network of friends. Hugs!

          Liked by 1 person

  6. Great post Dagny… I’m tagging myself on your behalf… heheh… will share the link once it’s up 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts or comments?

