Edgar Allan Poe

Edgar Allan Poe

poe

January 19, 1809 – October 7, 1849

Poe was my God of Fiction. I used to love the horrible and the grotesque–much more than I do now–and can recall tales of murderers, spirits, reincarnations, metempsychoses, and every shudder-producing device known to literature!

H. P. Lovecraft

1922PoeCottage

Poe Cottage, Fordham, New York
Frank Belknap Long, H. P. Lovecraft and James F. Morton
April 11, 1922

H. P. Lovecraft also visited the Poe Cottage on September 23, 1924. This time with Samuel Loveman.

Today’s entry at the Interesting Literature blog is Five Fascinating Facts about Edgar Allan Poe. Other sites to visit include The Edgar Allan Poe Society of Baltimore and The Museum of Edgar Allan Poe in Richmond, Virginia.

5 comments on “Edgar Allan Poe

  1. Allison says:

    In high school, we studied Poe’s Tell-Tale Heart. It still chills me!

    I have an Illustrated treasury about Poe from Metro. It contains facsimiles of his letters, drafts, and more. One day I’ll have to reread his writings.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post Dagny 🙂
    On your recommendation I’m reading Edgar Allan Poe’s Vol-1… thanks for introducing me to such a fine author 🙂

    PS: Just wanted to know if it’s okay with you if I add your name in my review for this one, in the “recommended by” section…?

    Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts or comments?

