Friday Finds – January 16, 2015

Shocked

Friday Finds is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading to showcase books you recently found and added to your TBR (to be read) list. It doesn’t matter whether you found them free online, borrowed them from a library or purchased them. Anything and everything works.

My total finds for the last couple of week are seven library books and three thrift shop books. Yep, I am already falling behind for this year.

DeadDoornail

I’ve already finished Dead as a Doornail by Charlaine Harris. It is the fifth book in her Sookie Stackhouse series and each book appeals to me more. Yes, I am hooked on this series.

I’m currently reading The Kraken Project by Douglas Preston. More on that Tuesday.

StreetLawyer One of the books I’m most looking forward to is The Street Lawyer by John Grisham, although I don’t know when I’ll be able to actually get around to reading it. I hadn’t read much (if anything) in the way of legal thrillers until Michael Connelly’s The Lincoln Lawyer. It is the first in Connelly’s Mickey Haller series. I was going to skip them until discovering that Harry Bosch shows up in the next two books. I found The Lincoln Lawyer absolutely riveting and decided I might actually enjoy legal thrillers. Who better to sample than the master John Grisham.

The only other item of particular note is The Inn at Rose Harbor by Debbie Macomber.InnRoseHarbor It is the first of her Rose Harbor series. Back at home, I found out this is a spin-off of her Cedar Cove series, so this book will go in storage for a while. I haven’t read the Cedar Cove books, but love the television series. My local library has the entire Cedar Cove series so I’ll try them as soon as time permits.

*  *  *  *  *  *  *

Any exciting finds for you this week? Please leave a comment with the link to your own Friday Finds post on MizB’s blog or here. If you don’t have a blog, you may share your finds in a comment here anyway. We’d love to know what you found this week.

19 comments on “Friday Finds – January 16, 2015

  1. Nice selection of books!! Happy reading. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Isn’t it great when you find a series you love? Street Lawyer sounds good. My FF post is at https://cleopatralovesbooks.wordpress.com/2015/01/16/friday-finds-january-16/

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Amy Couttas says:

    Are the Sookie Stackhouse books really good? I watched True Blood and I felt like if I read the books I’d always know what was about to happen next. But if there as awesome as you say I think I’ll add them to my tbr.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dagny says:

      I’ve never seen True Blood. The Sookie books came to me highly recommended, so I thought I’d give them a try. I didn’t care much for the first one, but figured it was just setting up the story and it did have a ‘hook’ at the end that peaked my curiosity. Then the second one, I didn’t like the storyline much, but liked all the regular characters. Still, wasn’t sure if I’d go on. A hook right at the end and I simply had to find out what would happen. Then with the third book, they really started to come together for me and four was better and five, the one I just finished, was better yet. Like a soap opera, they all have something at the end that makes me really curious. Since you’ve seen True Blood, if you find you’re not liking the first couple, you can probably safely skip them. They’re important to setting up the story for newbies, but you probably know all that. They’re so popular that your library probably has them and you wouldn’t be out any money.

      Like

  4. Amy Couttas says:

    Yeah I can imagine they’re pretty soap opera-y so is the show haha but I think i will read the first one see if i like it. Thanks 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. louloureads says:

    I love legal thrillers, but I’ve *still* never read any John Grisham, which is ridiculous. Enjoy your finds 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Have you read the Pendergast books by Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dagny says:

      I have. I love most of their books. I’ve never been a fan of Pendergast himself and much preferred reading about Smithback and D’Agosta. I seem to be in the minority, but it wasn’t until Two Graves that I began to warm up to Pendergast and actually started to like him in White Fire. It didn’t spoil my enjoyment of the books though.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Jocelyn says:

    Great finds! I’ve always wanted to read a Debbie Macomber book but never do. Her works intrigues me!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. FictionFan says:

    I usually love Grisham, though he can be variable. From what I remember, The Street Lawyer was one of the good ones…

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I like John Grisham’s books (finally you mentioned a author that I’ve read! heheh!)
    Most of my finds are the ones you recommended but other than them I found some on Netgalley. I hope I’ll be able to read more of Netgalley books this year.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dagny says:

      LOL, and Grisham is the one I haven’t read yet. When I get to this one, it will be my first.

      Good luck with the Netgalley books. I don’t know how you manage to squeeze in so much reading. It’s great that you do.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Heheh! That makes me feel better…lol!

        OMG! You have no idea, I’m actually going crazy juggling between so many book. When I sleep at night, I dream about the book I read just before going to bed and after waking up I sometimes it gets hard to distinguish between my dream stories and the real ones! LOL! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

        • Dagny says:

          I haven’t hit the dream mix-ups yet, but with all these Teaser Tuesdays, Friday Finds and Challenges, the situation is getting dire, lol. Earlier this morning I got a line on another mystery author from the early 1900s that I had forgotten about. My Genre Classic for February is filling up fast – what am I saying? It’s already overflowing.

          Like

Your thoughts or comments?

