Teaser Tuesdays – October 28, 2014

NewOrleansTT

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading.

Anyone can participate.

If you’re new to Teaser Tuesdays, the details are at MizB’s Should Be Reading or on my Teaser Tuesdays Page.

Burn is the sixteenth of Nevada Barr’s Anna Pigeon series. I enjoyed and kept up with the early and middle books because I like Anna and her occupation of Park Ranger is unique. Lately though I have been put off by too many chapters devoted to the one-shot characters who are often unlikeable bad guys. With Burn being set in New Orleans, I am hoping the city itself might lend extra interest to these scenes.

Burn by Nevada Barr

BurnBarr

The shop felt witchy enough–a little kitschy as well, but even practitioners of the occult needed to make a living. It was deserted: no customers, no salespeople, not even a black cat lounging amid the esoterica.

Have you read any of Nevada Barr’s Anna Pigeon series? What are you reading now? Do you have a TT to share with us?

Please leave a comment with your link on MizB’s Teaser Tuesday post or below. If you don’t have a blog, you can share your Teaser here in the comment section instead.

29 comments on “Teaser Tuesdays – October 28, 2014

  1. Kathy Martin says:

    I have never read this series. I wonder if I need to start at the beginning or if I can begin anywhere. Happy reading!

    Like

  2. w0rdtrix says:

    I’ve only read the first book in this series, but have several others in Mount TBR. Mine: The Aristocrat

    Like

  3. I’ve not heard of this series, it is a shame it lost its way recently, hopefully you’ll enjoy this one more. Thanks for visiting my TT http://cleopatralovesbooks.wordpress.com/2014/10/28/teaser-tuesday-october-28/

    Like

  4. Not familiar with this series – then again I’m not much of a series girl – too much commitment for me:) Thanks for sharing and coming by mine today:)
    http://mydogearedpurpose.com/2014/10/28/teaser-tuesday-october-28th/

    Like

    • It is a lot to keep up with! I’m the opposite though and love being with familiar characters. With non-series books, it sometimes takes me a lot of chapters to get really interested in the story/characters. Thanks for leaving your TT with the special costumed Halloween treat for us.

      Like

  5. I love stories set in New Orleans, there’s always so much atmosphere. Cool teaser too, I can picture so much about the shop from the short description. And thanks for stopping by My Teaser.

    Like

  6. fuonlyknew says:

    Is this a new one in the series? I’ve read some of them and my sister is going to go crazy to get this.
    Here is my TT – http://fuonlyknew.com/2014/10/28/teaser-tuesdays-87-moore-zombies-and-the-alien-next-door/

    Like

    • Burn is from 2010. There’s at least one newer one, The Rope. I have that one, but didn’t get to it yet. Thanks for commenting and for leaving your Zombie link.

      Like

      • fuonlyknew says:

        Ah. My sister probably has them then. A few months ago she was lucky to go to a book signing for Nevada. She took a bunch of her books to get signed and bought some too.

        Like

      • Lucky sister! She probably does have them then, because The Rope is a couple of years old. Warn her about Burn – it is much rougher to read than any of the others because of the subject matter. A good read, but not a fun one if you know what I mean.

        Like

  7. ljennison says:

    Your Snoopy t-shirt sounds cute and the store in your teaser is interesting. Wonder where everybody is? Thanks for coming by Through Raspberry Colored Glasses.

    Like

  8. I haven’t read any of the books in this series, but I’m interested because of the New Orleans setting, as well as her profession as a park ranger. Sounds good!
    My Tuesday post features THE BEARWALKER’S DAUGHTER.

    Like

  9. Don’t pick this one because of the New Orleans setting. Except for the first part, it’s strictly non-touristy and evil – but evil by humans, not voodoo evil (which would have been interesting, lol).

    I was surprised to learn about the New Orleans Jazz National Historical Park which actually features singing. http://www.nps.gov/jazz/photosmultimedia/index.htm Quite different from Anna’s other adventures, all of which take place in a different National Park. She moves around a lot, lol.

    Thanks for coming by and leaving the link to your TT.

    Like

  10. I haven’t read this author, but now I’m curious. Thanks for sharing…and for visiting my blog.

    Like

  11. yvonne473 says:

    I read one book by this author that I really liked. This sounds like something I would like too.

    Like

    • Thanks for commenting, Yvonne. One of my favorites by Barr is Blind Descent. I loved that one. This one was hard reading because of the subject. Yours this week sounds like much more fun. I’d rather be subjected to dust bunnies any day, lol.

      Like

  12. Greg says:

    Hmm, curious about the shop… looks like a fun series.

    Like

  13. SilverSeason says:

    Blind Descent must be the one about the cave. I have read several of the books and enjoy the various settings, especially when in places I have visited, but the cave book made me claustrophobic.

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re right, Nancy. Blind Descent is the one about Carlsbad Caverns. I can still remember when I was there and at one point they sat us all down and turned out the lights so we could experience the complete darkness. The one at the Statue of Liberty was one of my least favorites although I don’t know why I didn’t care much for it.

      Like

      • SilverSeason says:

        Usually I like the touches about Ann Pigeon’s personal life, but that book had a lot of stuff about her sister which did not seem very much to the point.

        Like

      • I remembered that it had something to do with her sister. That must have been it. I had thought it was so cool in the beginning of the book. I wonder if all the side story stuff that I don’t care much for was beginning then.

        Like

Your thoughts or comments?

