Friday Finds – October 10, 2014

SnoopySpyGlassFFFriday Finds is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading to showcase books you recently found and added to your TBR (to be read) list. It doesn’t matter whether you found them free online, borrowed them from a library or purchased them. Anything and everything works.

I stopped at the library of a neighboring town and found two books in their sale room.

The Rescue
by Nicholas Sparks

TheRescue

Although I’ve long heard of Nicholas Sparks, surprisingly I haven’t yet read one of his books.

Too Many Murders
by Colleen McCullough

TooManyMurders

This is book #2 of McCullough’s Carmine Delmonico series. I may have vaguely heard of these but had forgotten about them. I almost didn’t buy this one but it is set in 1967 and I’m a sucker for the sixties. The $1 price will give me the opportunity to see if I like this series enough to add it to my long list of series mysteries that are must reads.

Share your Friday Finds with us! Please leave a comment with the link to your own Friday Finds post on MizB’s blog or here. If you don’t have a blog, you may share your finds in a comment here anyway. We’d love to know what you found this week.

11 comments on “Friday Finds – October 10, 2014

  1. Too Many Murders sounds intriguing!! Here are my FF for the week. Happy reading.

    Like

  2. Reblogged this on Brave New Deadline and commented:
    Looking for a weekend read? Check out Friday FInds.

    Like

  3. I didn’t realise Colleen McCullough wrote mystery fiction as well as The Thorn Birds which was one of those sagas that was passed around while I was still at school! Happy reading!

    Like

    • Neither did I, Cleo, and there’s already five of them! Besides The Thorn Birds (which I loved), I also read Tim and The Ladies of Missalonghi. I tried her Roman series, but only read the first one. Set too far back in time for me.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. You haven’t read even a single Sparks’s book?
    I’m a huge fan of Nicholas Sparks! He writes the best romance books, a lot of them made me literally cry, I mean literally!
    You’ve got to read his books, specially Notebook, Dear John, Safe Haven, A Walk To Remember and The Choice… these are the best ones!
    I haven’t read The Rescue yet, but looking forward to read your review on it. I hope you enjoy it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I haven’t read a lot from the genres you like but after exploring your blog, I think I may have to expand my horizons. Right now I’m reading Maplecroft by Cherie Priest. It’s sort of a retelling of the Lizzie Borden legend. The real villains though are, um, sort of otherworldly creatures. Breakfast at Tiffanys btw is one of my all time favorite reads 🙂

    Like

    • I know what you mean about our differing genres. Our book comparison at Goodreads isn’t high, but we have a lot of 4 star and 5 star books in common.

      I’ve just started an historical mystery/romance which might be right up your alley. It’s The Cloister and the Hearth by Charles Reade. He’s a 19th Century author, but the book is set much earlier. You can check it out at Project Gutenberg: http://www.gutenberg.org/ebooks/38895 – a great advantage in reading old books, lol.

      Like

Your thoughts or comments?

