Jimmy Buffett’s Desert Island Books

DesertIslandPalmPirate50In A Pirate Looks at Fifty, Jimmy Buffet wrote:

Following the Equator is one of a baker’s dozen of books I would have to take to a desert island. I can pick it up, turn to any page, and get lost in the story.

Mark Twain’s book is available free in numerous formats at Project Gutenberg. The other twelve books on Jimmy’s list are:

The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain
Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson
Don’t Stop the Carnival by Herman Wouk
Winds from the Carolinas by Robert Wilder
One Writer’s Beginnings by Eudora Welty
The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemingway
A Gift from the Sea by Anne Morrow Lindbergh
The Fables of La Fontaine by Jean de la Fontaine
West with the Night by Beryl Markham
A Collection of Poems by Pablo Neruda
The Road Less Traveled by M. Scott Peck
No One Writes to the Colonel and Other Stories by Gabriel Garcia Marquez

I have about a half dozen titles which would remain on my Baker’s Dozen of Desert Island Books permanently, but the rest always seem to change over time. My must haves, in no particular order, are Pere Goriot, Anna Karenina, Madame Bovary, Jonathan Livingston Seagull, Atlas Shrugged, The House of Mirth and The Count of Monte Cristo.
How about you? What are your Desert Island Books?

8 comments on “Jimmy Buffett’s Desert Island Books

  1. Jonathan says:

    What no H.P. Lovecraft or Zola, Dagny?

    I’m not too sure, but if there’s a ‘Living on a Desert Island for Dummies’ book then I’d probably want to have that.

    Liked by 1 person

    • LOL, Jonathan. I was thinking of all those books on camping, starting fires, etc. Definitely handy. L’Assommoir would make the cut, but probably just the one Zola. Although if I could get The Cities Trilogy in one volume, that would be great reading. Lovecraft’s stories are too scary!

      Like

  2. FictionFan says:

    Hmm… Bleak House and the complete Sherlock Holmes as old familiars. A couple of Georgette Heyer’s regency romances to cheer me up when it rains. A couple of Reginald Hills ‘cos I can’t go too long without a dose of Dalziel. I’d have to think about the rest… Oh, and Gatsby, of course.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I know I would have Duma Key by Stephen King. Not sure if I could pick my top favourites out of the rest of my books though.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know what you mean about trying to choose!

      I haven’t read Duma Key, Emma, but there are a couple of his that I could take. My first thought was Salem’s Lot, but an even better choice for me would be 11/22/63 and it’s very long, lol.

      Like

      • I haven’t read either of those books. I like Stephen King but find a lot of his books are quite scary. I read Pet Sematary and The Green Mile when I was in high school, though I can’t remember if they were scary. Misery creeped me out.

        Like

      • You might like Salem’s Lot. It’s scary, but more about the townspeople than the vampires. You might not like 11/22/63 unless you’re interested in the Kennedy assassination. I was in college when it happened, so it is especially interesting to me for that reason. Misery was riveting to me and I liked the movie too with James Caan and Kathy Bates. Oddly enough I also found Cujo riveting, but I haven’t seen that movie.

        Like

Your thoughts or comments?

