Teaser Tuesdays – August 19, 2014

OceanMoonTeaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading.

Anyone can participate.

If you’re new to Teaser Tuesdays, the details are at MizB’s Should Be Reading or on my Teaser Tuesdays Page.

 

My Teaser Tuesdays this week is from a group read at the 19th Century Literature group.

The Sea Wolf
By Jack London

SeaWolf1

“And when shall we arrive at Yokohama?” she asked, turning to him and looking him squarely in the eyes.

There it was, the question flat.  The jaws stopped working, the ears ceased wobbling, and though eyes remained glued on plates, each man listened greedily for the answer.

 

Have you read anything by Jack London? What are you reading now? Do you have a TT to share with us?

Please leave a comment with your link on MizB’s Teaser Tuesday post or below. If you don’t have a blog, you can share your Teaser here in the comment section instead.

 

17 comments on “Teaser Tuesdays – August 19, 2014

  1. w0rdtrix says:

    Good teaser. We read a short story by London in HS, but I’ve not read anything since. Two of his books are languishing in Mount TBR. My teaser: No Graves As Yet

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I read Jack London back in my school days, but that was years ago. I’ve never read this one.
    My Teaser is from KATIE & THE IRISH TEXAN.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That was me, Sandra, hadn’t read Jack London since I was out of school. Even then I probably only read the dog stories. That was me then, dog stories and horse stories, lol.

      An Irish Texan–does it get any better? Maybe a Scots Texan.

      Like

  3. emaginette says:

    Those quick written words explain why Jack London was a star. I love the cover as much as the tease. Thank you so much for posting this.

    Anna from Shout with Emaginette

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re welcome, Anna. There were several great covers. I almost put up two covers.

      Your book sounds interesting to any lovers of horror fiction. Thanks for alerting us to it. I just posted a few days ago about Lovecraft and Bloch. I seem to be stuck in the past.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I remember my copy of Call of the Wild which had a very scary looking dog on the cover. Here is my TT http://cleopatralovesbooks.wordpress.com/2014/08/19/teaser-tuesday-august-19/

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Some good covers for London books, but the ones are for Edgar Rice Burroughs. I laugh when I see most of them. Really I’d rather see a dog, lol.

    Thanks for coming by and leaving the link to yours. It sounds great.

    Like

  6. I don’t think I’ve ever given London my time. I have vague memories of either Call of the Wild, or White Fang, but those might be the movie versions I’m thinking of, lol! But I like your teaser, how everyone is eagerly anticipating the answer to this woman’s question!

    Thanks for stopping by My Teaser earlier!

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s me, Kerry, vague memories of dog books. This one is different, only marine animals in sight and a captain who shanghaies his crew.

      Thanks so much for your endorsement of Storm Front. I love series mysteries, but haven’t tried one with a supernatural P.I. Going to give it a try.

      Like

  7. fuonlyknew says:

    I read this so long ago I can’t really remember anything about it. I loved White Fang and must have read it a dozen times.
    Thanks for stopping by my tease.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. fredamans says:

    Never read this author before… I like the excitement of travel, though am curious as to why… Great teaser!

    Like

  9. Eustacia says:

    I haven’t read anything by Jack London, but Yokohama! I went there when I lived in Tokyo!!

    Thanks for having stopped my blog^^

    Like

  10. So I happened to pick a great quote for you! Thanks for coming by and commenting.

    Yours this week looks interesting–and has a great cover.

    Like

Your thoughts or comments?

