Friday Finds – August 15, 2014

TwistedHouseFFFriday Finds is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading to showcase books you recently found and added to your TBR (to be read) list. It doesn’t matter whether you found them free online, borrowed them from a library or purchased them. Anything and everything works.

 

 
I am very excited about my finds this week. I spotted the first book on the Cozy Crimes poll at Goodreads.

1EchoesStorm2BridesStorm3SecretsStorm

 

Amanda Albright Still:
1. Echoes of the Storm
2. Brides of the Storm
3. Secrets of the Storm

 

The Galveston Hurricane Mysteries feature female attorney Dash Gallagher and are set in the aftermath of the devastating hurricane which hit Galveston in 1900 killing several thousand people. This caught my eye because I have vacationed in Galveston and read about the hurricane. In researching whether or not these books would interest me, I learned that the author died earlier this year.

 

Please share your Friday Finds with us! It’s easy. Just leave a comment with the link to your own Friday Finds post on MizB’s blog or here. If you don’t have a blog, you may share your finds in a comment here anyway. We’d love to know what you found this week.

14 comments on “Friday Finds – August 15, 2014

  1. What a great idea to connect these cosies with an actual event in the 1900’s. Here is my FF http://cleopatralovesbooks.wordpress.com/2014/08/15/friday-finds-august-15/

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s exactly what drew me to them, Cleo. The old photo I used for “Friday Finds” is one of an actual house in Galveston after the hurricane.

      Like yours this week with mysteries and a humorous one.

      Like

  2. FictionFan says:

    I’ll be interested to hear what you think of these – I like a good cosy from time to time! Mind you, I’m assuming they’re cosies based purely on the covers – perhaps they’re not… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Shannon says:

    I love finding books that are set around historical events, especially places I have visited. I can see why you were drawn to these books! I hope you enjoy them! Cosies can be a lot of fun too 😀

    here is my FF: http://eatupmyfreetime.wordpress.com/2014/08/15/friday-finds-aug-15/

    And if you are looking for a new Friday Meme I just started one today! Free Time Fridays

    Liked by 1 person

  4. missdarcy87 says:

    Those look very interesting! I love cozy crime books.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thanks for coming by. From the looks of your FFs this week, you enjoy a wide variety of genres and really hit the jackpot this week. Kudos.

    Like

  6. louloureads says:

    These look great–I love crime fiction, especially cosy crimes. I’ll have to look these up.

    Like

  7. T D Hutch says:

    Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine, November 2013 contains a very nice short story titled “The Covering Storm” by David H. Ingram. It is set during the Galveston hurricane. I wrote a short review on my blog ( http://eerieworlds.com/2013/09/07/review-ellery-queen-mystery-magazine-november-2013-volume-cxlii-no-5/ ). If you wish I can get the story for you, it’s just a few pages but quite intriguing.

    Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts or comments?

