Friday Finds – August 8, 2014

SeineSunsetFF

Friday Finds is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading to showcase books you recently found and added to your TBR (to be read) list. It doesn’t matter whether you found them free online, borrowed them from a library or purchased them. Anything and everything works.

 

This book was brought to my attention a few weeks ago when Mike nominated it as a group read at the Yahoo French Literature group and arrived earlier this week. The read and discussion will take place in October. Anyone interested is welcome to join us. We’d love to have you.

The Life Before Us
(La Vie devant soi)
by Romain Gary
Translated by Ralph Manheim

I was unable to find a cover image for the particular edition I have, so chose another by the same translator.

LifeBeforeUs

Several readers I know are fans of Romain Gary’s books. Emma at Book Around The Corner has a page devoted to him. She wrote the following of the next book: “Back in February, when I prepared the fourth Wednesday with Romain Gary post, I felt the urge to reread Lady L and I wasn’t disappointed.” This persuaded me to add Lady L to my book order.

Lady L
by Romain Gary

This book was originally written in English which confused me until reading at Emma’s site that Gary’s first wife was British writer Lesley Blanch.

LadyL

Both these books have been made into movies. La Vie devant soi, which won the Prix Goncourt the year it was published, was made into a movie titled Madame Rosa starring Simone Signoret. The movie of Lady L retained the book title and starred Sophia Loren, Paul Newman and David Niven.

Did you make any fabulous discoveries this week? Share your Friday Finds with us! Please leave a comment with the link to your own Friday Finds post on MizB’s blog or here. If you don’t have a blog, you may share your finds in a comment here anyway. We’d love to know what you found this week.

8 comments on “Friday Finds – August 8, 2014

  1. Caitlin says:

    Nice short list!

    Like

  2. The Life Before Us sounds good although I hadn’t heard of it before I read your post. Thanks for visiting my FF http://cleopatralovesbooks.wordpress.com/2014/08/08/friday-finds-august-8/

    Like

    • I hadn’t even heard of the author until recently and I read a lot of French books (in translation). But most of the French authors I read tend to be 19th Century ones like Balzac, Zola, Gaboriau and such.

      Love the photos of your bookcase!

      Like

      • I’d heard of the author and checked this one out, sounds fascinating. The first thing I do when I go to someone’s house is to look at their bookshelf (if they have one) so I thought I’d share a picture for a change.

        Like

  3. Carrie says:

    Interesting finds. I do have a thing for French settings!

    Like

  4. Emma says:

    Thanks for the link to my blog and for promoting my favourite writer to Anglophone readers. I did a series from January to May : it’s the centerary of his birth.

    I also highly recommend Promise at Dawn, I’ve yet to meet someone who didn’t like it.

    Like

    • You’re welcome, Emma. Even though I had never read anything by Romain Gary, I remembered the name from your weekly posts. I’m looking forward to sampling his work. Thanks for the recommendation of his memoir.

      Like

Your thoughts or comments?

