Teaser Tuesdays – August 5, 2014

OpenBookGoldTT

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading.

Anyone can participate.

If you’re new to Teaser Tuesdays, the details are at MizB’s Should Be Reading or on my Teaser Tuesdays Page.

 

 

Mine this week, the first book of a trilogy, was recommended by Nancy with these words:

“This may be the best book you never heard of.”

Clayhanger by Arnold Bennett

Clayhanger

Edwin could not escape from the universal assumption. He felt it round him as a net which somehow he had to cut.

 

The Clayhanger Family:
Clayhanger (1910) Project Gutenberg or LibriVox
Hilda Lessways (1911) Project Gutenberg or LibriVox
These Twain (1916) Project Gutenberg or LibriVox

The Roll-Call (1918) is a sequel to the trilogy. Project Gutenberg or LibriVox

 

What are you reading now? Anything exciting or enlightening? Do you have a TT to share with us?

Please leave a comment with your link on MizB’s Teaser Tuesday post or below. If you don’t have a blog, you can share your Teaser here in the comment section instead.

23 comments on “Teaser Tuesdays – August 5, 2014

  1. harvee says:

    I don’t normally read sci fi or fantasy if this is what the genre is. Glad you enjoyed it!

    Like

    • No, it’s not sf or fantasy. I guess you might call it a family saga, although I’m not sure it’s that thorough since I’m only in the first book. I’ll probably be back to my normal mysteries next week.

      Like yours, you may have introduced me to a new series.

      Like

  2. Al says:

    Them assumptions get you every time 😉 I was told once “Don’t assume. It make’s an ass of u and me

    Like

  3. w0rdtrix says:

    I can honestly say, I have never heard of this series or the author. I’ll be sure to check them out. Thanks for visiting and commenting on “The Moonstone”!

    Like

    • I had never heard of Bennett either until recently but was introduced to him by a couple of friends. This is the second book by him.

      Enjoy The Moonstone, I know you will! I’ve read it twice.

      Like

  4. I do hope you are enjoying your change of genre this week? It is definitely a book I’ve never heard of. Here is my TT http://cleopatralovesbooks.wordpress.com/2014/08/05/teaser-tuesday-august-5/

    Like

  5. pdworkman says:

    Interesting!

    How about a Christmas cozy mystery to help to cool you down during the summer? Here’s my latest teaser: http://pdworkman.com/excerpt-from-christmas-carol-murder-teasertuesday-2/

    Like

  6. yvonne473 says:

    Interesting one…I never heard of this book before.

    Like

    • Not a lot of people have heard of this one, Yvonne. I hadn’t even heard of the author until several months ago when we read one of his at the 19th Century Literature group. Then when Nancy referred to this one as “the best book you never heard of” I simply had to put it on the list.

      Thanks for coming by. Your mystery this week sounds good.

      Like

  7. Love the cover! And the teaser makes me want to know more. Thanks for sharing…and for visiting my blog.

    Like

  8. I’m actually reading an eBook, so that is not the cover I have–but it’s my favorite for it.

    Thanks for coming by. Yours this week, Thursday’s Children sounds very good.

    Like

  9. I wonder what the assumption can be. Sounds like an interesting series.
    My Tuesday post features BETTER THAN YOUR DREAMS.

    Like

  10. Vonnie says:

    I wonder what the assumption is…

    Like

  11. aadnj says:

    It’s very interesting phrasing. I wonder what the assumption could be.
    Thanks for stopping by my blog.

    ~April @ Once Upon a Coffin

    Like

Your thoughts or comments?

