Teaser Tuesdays – May 6, 2014

TeaserTuesdays

My first one. Thank you to Emma for bringing this to my attention with her teaser from Timbuctoo today.

 

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

 

My teaser today is from Greenmantle, the second book in John Buchan’s Richard Hannay series.

Greenmantle1

He made a very good story of our doings, and by his constant harping on it I pretty soon got it into my memory. He said if you were going to play a part, you must think yourself into it, convince yourself that you were it, till you really were it and didn’t act but behaved naturally.

 

The Richard Hannay series by John Buchan:
The Thirty-Nine Steps (1915)
Greenmantle (1916)
Mr. Standfast (1919)
The Three Hostages (1924)
The Island of Sheep (1936)

 

 

Do you have a ‘teaser’ to share?

15 comments on “Teaser Tuesdays – May 6, 2014

  1. Sheri says:

    Great teaser! Thanks for sharing and happy reading! Here is my teaser.

    Like

  2. What a great teaser, I love the thought of the narrator playing a part with conviction as they’d heard the story over and over… Here is my TT http://cleopatralovesbooks.wordpress.com/2014/05/06/teaser-tuesday-may-6/

    Like

  3. pdworkman says:

    Sounds like a good book!

    Mine this week is for a young adult paranormal murder mystery. Check it out:
    http://pdworkman.com/grave-artist-teaser/

    Like

  4. great teaser, and welcome to Teaser Tuesdays! So glad I helped you discover it!

    Like

    • Me too, Emma! Having a lot of fun with it (to the detriment of my chores, lol).

      Like

      • are you listening to audiobooks? perfect for my chores: washing the dishes, cooking, dusting, ironing, it works, and narrators can add so much to books!

        Like

      • I used to listen to audio books quite a bit when I was working but fell away from it when I retired. Just started again and actually this one an audio book. I listened to the first chapter a couple of times and read along because I thought I missed a lot. But am doing better now that it’s really into the story proper. I have the etext handy and skim some parts.

        Like

  5. gill edwards says:

    what an interesting choice, i loved the 39 Steps films but havent read any of his books, thanks for visiting me earlier

    Like

  6. Tarnmoor says:

    Greenmantle was also a favorite of mine, largely because of the action set in Turkey. I should read more of the Buchan Hannays. BTW, Buchan wrote some good non-Hannay fiction set in Scotland: I am thinking particularly of Witch Wood.

    Like

    • Thanks, Jim. I haven’t read any of his others yet. I see there is an eText online of Witch Wood, so I can grab that for my reader. When I looked at the list at Project Gutenberg, the name that rang a bell with me was Prester John, but not from the book.

      Like

Your thoughts or comments?

