Azathoth Monument

AZ1

 

Thank you to the Miskatonic Books blog for alerting me to the news of a monument to the “god of Chaos which mysteriously appeared yesterday. Their blog entry includes a link to the newspaper article and that site also has a video report from Channel 4, KFOR in Oklahoma.

AZ2

The plaque on the monument reads:
“In the Year of Our Lord 2012 Creer Pipi claimed this land for Azathoth”

 

Azathoth” is a fragment and can be read at the H. P. Lovecraft Archive.

Howard Lovecraft thought of writing a novel with that title. In a letter to Frank Belknap Long dated June 9, 1922, he wrote:

“Like you, I am impressed with the futility of all effort–and the only reason I ever read or write anything is that I would be still more miserable if I didn’t. As it is, I am not nearly so active and studious as I was in youth–when I felt that it led somewhere. Nowadays I am active only in order to kill boredom–but that is something. The only legitimate artistic motive is to please oneself–to utter things because they have to be uttered, or because it is by uttering them that one may be most comfortable. Imagination is the great refuge. That is the theme of the weird Vathek-like novel Azathoth, on whose opening pages I have been experimenting. I planned it long ago, but only began work–or play–on it a few days ago. Probably I’ll never finish it–possibly I’ll never get even a chapter written–but it amuses me just now to pretend to myself that I’m going to write it.”

 

Vathek: An Arabian Tale is a novel by William Beckford which Howard had read during the prior year.

Azathoth is mentioned in four of Lovecraft’s stories: The Dreams in the Witch House, The Haunter of the Dark, The Thing on the Doorstep and The Whisperer in Darkness.

Your thoughts or comments?

