The Ladies’ Paradise, by Emile Zola, translated by Brian Nelson

A very refreshing atypical entry in Zola’s Rougon-Macquart saga.

ANZ LitLovers LitBlog

The Ladies' ParadiseI loved this book! I have a mountain of other things to read but after seeing the BBC series created out of Émile Zola’s The Ladies’ Paradise I couldn’t resist bringing it home from the library.  However, I also stumbled across Julian Barnes Levels of Life that day – and it was so beautiful and wise that I read and reviewed that first, and then I found myself with only a day to read all 480 pages of The Ladies’ Paradise and no, I couldn’t renew it because it’s in high demand at the library.

By the time I had read the brilliant introduction by Brian Nelson and the first chapter I knew I had to finish the story without waiting for a copy by snail mail, so I resurrected the hated Kindle to buy a copy from You-Know-Who.  And because I had fallen in love with Zola I succumbed to…

View original post 1,407 more words

Your thoughts or comments?

