Subway by Carl Sandburg

Carl Sandburg

 
SUBWAY
 
Down between the walls of shadow
Where the iron laws insist,
The hunger voices mock.
 
The worn wayfaring men
With the hunched and humble shoulders,
Throw their laughter into toil.
 
Carl Sandburg (January 6, 1878 – July 22, 1967)
5 comments on “Subway by Carl Sandburg

  1. bennythomas says:

    Is that descent into the night ?
    On the thundering hooves
    Of iron monsters upholstered
    with people like you and me,
    -Vacant our gaze barely
    Glancing, we bob along.
    The belly of the beast spews
    Out the remains of a day
    And the pavements skewed
    with neon lights smell stench
    Of nightfall.
    benny
    By the way I wrote this in one sitting flat! Hope you like this. Have a great weekend, Dagny.

    Like

  2. Fredr says:

    Dagny,

    Nice blog. You should post more often (not that you have anything else to do).

    I like Sandburg. I listed “Fog” myself, along with TS Eliot’s fog and cat poem.

    I listed your blog on mine.

    Like

  3. bennythomas says:

    Dagny, re.your ‘like’ on pen portraits- Ouida, I went to project Gutenberg library after my piece for Under Two flags. I noted with pleasure you also proof read it. You must be really busy. Have a nice week end.

    Like

Your thoughts or comments?

